In memoriam Toru Takemitsu 


It is without a doubt an expressive essay, having the work of the great Japanese composer, Toru Takemitsu, as a guide; and built from the interpolation and juxtaposition of four modal derivations that come from this author.


Takemitsu’s compositional language is explored throughout four sections (Birds in the Garden, Rain, Twilight and Requiem) in a personal vision that favors the resonances and the combination possibilities of the intervals of the perfect fourth and the augmented fourth. Even though the piece has moments of great diversity, its unification is designed by the Interval patterns and the narrative of an initial element that suggests the singing of a bird, which is presented, transformed, reconstructed, and evokes the soul and spirit of Toru Takemitsu throughout all the piece…


The piece is dedicated to Juan Carlos Laguna.




5 Minutes


Solo Guitar


November 11, 2017
Celaya, Guanajuato
International Guitar-Camera Festival 2017

Juan Carlos Laguna, Guitar

Después del Atardecer... - Francisco Villegas
00:00 / 00:00

© 2018 by Francisco Villegas

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Icono social de YouTube
  • Icono Social SoundCloud
  • Icono social Instagram